2017 reissue (CD)
Nippon Columbia COCB54217

1983 original release (LP)
Columbia YF-7078-BD
  • 1
    Just One of Those Things
  • 2
    Night & Day
  • 3
    I'm a Fool to Want You
  • 4
    I'll Remember April
  • 5
    Sophisticated Lady
  • 6
    If I Should Lose You
  • 7
    As Time Goes By
  • 8
    Everything Happens to Me

Created as a parody of but perceived and enjoyed more as a tribute to Golden Age Hollywood classics. An artful combination of sumptuous orchestral arrangements and rough band sounds.

Produced by Yasuaki Shimizu, Aki Ikuta
Composed by Cole Porter (1, 2), Joel Herron, Jack Wolf, Frank Sinatra, Pat Johnston (3),
Don Raye, Gene de Paul (4), Duke Ellington (5), Leo Robin, Ralph Rainger (6), Herman Hupfeld (7), Matt Dennis (8)


Yasuaki Shimizu: conductor, soprano, alto, tenor, C-melody saxophone, bass clarinet, fake trombone, fake marimba, fake bass, noises, real piano
Hideo Yamaki: Simmons e-ds. (1, 4, 6, 8), snares (8)
Morio Watanabe: bass (2)
Aki Ikuta: Linn drum machine (2, 3, 5, 7)
Shuhei Kubo: real tuba (6)
Ryuichi Sakamoto: piano (8)
Royal Artless Strings
Asuka Kaneko: concert master


Recorded by Norio Okada, Toshihiko Takahashi at Nippon Columbia (Tokyo)
Recorded/mixed by Neal Dorfsma at Power Station (New York)